sluggish trac lately

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zak Paull

Reaction score
So heres whats going on lately it seems like my trac has gotten slow in city driving especially when im accelerating. On the highway it doest feel to much different. I have a flowmaster exhaust, and a K&N cold air. To eliminate a few things the air filter is clean, the MAF is clean. I kinda feel like it is the cats because they smell alittle rotten lately and its acting like my ranger did when they went bad but I dont hear any ratteling when I hit them. I havent taken it to a shop yet because I wanted to hear your guys opinions. Thx in advance.

PeZ,

I see that you have an '02. How many miles?. An '02 should have had a complete

tune-up by now, regardless of miles. Air filter,(which you did mention), plugs, maybe wires,

fuel filter, etc... And whether you drive aggressively or not, may have something to do with

carbon build-up in your cylinders, and your catalytic converters performance. Also,

If you are running Premium Fuel, if you do not need to do so, as most 'Tracs don't, that may

add to your total performance problem.

Don't forget to check your belts, hoses, and any other rubber under the hood, for signs

of cracking and/or deterioration at this stage of your 'Trac.

All fluids, also. Anti-freeze, gearbox(4WD), axle lube, etc... All of these factors, if not

maintained, can relate to the performance degredation you have described.;)

It has 60k on it. I dont really drive aggresive. I run premium, and fuel cleaner every once in awhile. Also run prolong through it. Havent changed plugs or fuel filter.

I can almost guaranty it is the fuel filter.....

And at 60 K, you may want do do drive train fluids, coolant, P/s fluid and brake fluid changes...

And while your in there, plugs and wires...

Todd Z