motorcycle helmet

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ray McIntireJr

Reaction score
Looking for a decent motorcycle helmet but I don't want to break the bank, under $100 would be great. Any suggestions? Looking on amazon and think I found one with the "modular" face bar.

I've always owned HJC's.. they seem to fit my head well and not break the bank. I have zero experience with modulars though. I've always worn full face fixed helmets.

Try the link below. I got one last year so I could race at Englishtown drags for under $100. AFX makes some helmets with pretty cool graphics for under/around that price. Also GMax has some cool stuff. Take a look, might be worth it. Bob

Last edited by a moderator:
Just watch the expiration dates on used stuff.....

Todd Z

I don't know the first thing about motorcycle helmets, but here's some advice for shopping for bicycle helmets which I suspect would also apply here...

Before you order any helmet from Amazon or any other sight-unseen location, be sure to find a way to try on that model of helmet (or at least that brand of helmet) prior to your purchase. Different bike helmet manufacturers make helmets which are shaped for slightly different shapes of heads, and a brand/model which might fit some of your buddies just great might be awful for your noggin. For example, Bell makes bicycle helmets which are slightly more wide/round than other manufacturers, while Specialized makes helmets which are slightly more narrow/oblong. Several of my friends swear by their Specialized helmets, but the pressure points hit my head in all the wrong locations, so I only wear Bell. And how that helmet fits you, particularly during periods of prolonged wearing, is going to have far more impact in the long run on your satisfaction with the helmet than the price or graphics.