Doing business the old fashioned way...

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Ponder

Reaction score
As some of you know, I own a 1961 Ford Galaxie Sunliner. Well recently the generator went out on it, and I pulled it out to get it fixed.

There is a starter / alternator repair shop local to me call C&C Starter & Alternator (Located in Raytown MO). The place is run by a few older getlemen and I have been doing business with them for over 25 years. When you drop off the item for repair, they write it down on a white board, along with your name & phone number. (This is how they have done business for scores of years, well before I found hem) They are open only on weekdays, and close at 4:00 on Fridays so the guys can go home early. :) If you live in te Kansas City area, check them out.

They tested the generator while I waited, and it was bad. Left it for repair and they called me about 3 days later stating it was done. Picked it up today, and the replaced the bearings and the brushes, cleaned the armature and coils. and the charge? $35.00. That it. In all my years, they have never tried to rip me off and have always been great to deal with. They dont tack on extra charges, do excellent work, and have a great loyal client base including me. IMO, Thats the true ticket to business success.

Another instance... The starter in my riding mower went out, and I checked prices on the internet and all over town. Cheapest one I could fine was $145.00. I took the starter to them on a whim and they do work on them, however when they dissasembled it, it was completely fried, and not economical to fix. They found one, ordered it, and had it in the next day for $80.00 brand new. (Not trying to make a huge profit, but just a fair one) Thats customer service!