Need help with oil

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuckles Martin

Reaction score
i want to go synthetic in the trac what do u all think yes or not need info im thinking of going Motorcraft SAE 5W-30 Premium Synthetic Blend motor oil any info or input would be grate and how many mil. can u get out of it im changeing my oil ever 5000 is that what i need to do thank you all for help:banana:

I've been using Royal Purple ful synthetic for the past six years, and have noted an increase in mpg; only a couple of mpg, still an increase. I go 12k per change with a filter change and top off every 3k. My next oil change is going to be to Amsoil. So, I say go for it. :supercool:

Last edited by a moderator:
Motorcraft oil is very very good stuff. Probably the best oil for the money there is. No BS, but based on many UOA's posted at BobIsTheOilGuy.com. For a 5000 mile change interval it will be fine.

Motorcraft SAE 5W-30 Premium Synthetic Blend

That is what came from the factory. The blend. Are you meaning full synthetic.?

I run full castrol syntec. 5K with new filter and 1 qt. 10k full change and filter.

Bought my Trac used, at 46K. Have been using Castrol GTX until NAPA recently had a deal on 5 quarts of full synthetic,

(Valvoline) with their premium gold filter (WIX) for $15. ($5 rebate) I am still baffled from the mileage gains.

In two weeks, I have seen at least a 2 MPG increase, and much quieter, and smoother running engine.

Rodger- "Only" a couple MPG increase? From changing conventional to synth motor oil? HUH?

Last edited by a moderator:
RP is good oil. Becoming racers choice. Not worth the cost for street service.

I catch the syntec with K&N filters combo on sale, $25 to $27. Just piced up one the other day with an added $15 rebate. Now I have 3 changes on the shelf.