How many miles with gas light on?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott H

Reaction score
I'm a high school student who has never had his gas tank above a quarter besides when he first got his Trac.

I'm curious about the gas light since it comes on all the time. How many miles can I go with the light on?

Also, my gas guage needle fluctuates quite a bit. It can fluctuate as much as +/- a quarter tank. Very deceiving. Any ideas?

Thanks.

i think its 40 miles. a girlfriend of mine drives like two days with hers on and i dotn even know what mine looks like. and dont ever care to see it.

I find that sitting still on level ground, with the light on. I have about 2 gallons left. I dont run it that low very often. It is hard on the fuel pump, it cools itself in the gas it sits in. Also when you got the money in your pocket it doesnt cost anymore for a fill up, than $5 here and there.

Scott, my idea would be to put gas in the damn thing.:D

Seriously though, the problem with running the gas that low is it puts unneeded stress on the fuel pump. But being a one time "student" myself, I know how money budgets can be.

As for mileage, I think it's to come on when there is like 2 gal. left in there. Maybe more, maybe less. Someone else may be able to give you spacifics with that.

As for the inaccurate gauge. It could be the sending unit is getting worn out from not having to read above 1/2 tank.:D (Sorry, couldn't resist again.) Mine isn't real accurate either. Sometimes it moves real fast, then other times it will sit at a point for awhile then drop like a rock.;)

I think mine also comes on with about two gallons left (+/- a half gallon). I can go about 35 miles if I keep my foot light.