Hitch switch over and towing advice

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wayne Costin

Reaction score
Well, I switched my hitch over on my 2007, 2WD, V6 ST!

I had a 7 pin wiring harness installed and mounted just under the bumper. I think it looks pretty good, funny, I notice other vehicles now with 7 pin adapters under there bumpers when I sit at stop lights. Also, had a prodigy brake controller installed.

I have a co-worker who's husband builds stock cars and does all his own welding. He cutout the 1 1/4" receiver and welded in a 2" receiver for me for $100! Even painted it and all while it was still hot so the paint would bake in, as he referred to it.

So, I am all setup to pick up my new camper! I have been pulling a popup camper for the last 3 years with the ST, but we are upgrading to a Hybrid camper. The Hybrid camper is 3200 pounds dry and has a tongue weight of 238 pounds. It will also be coming with a weight distribution hitch.

Any thoughts from you all or tips on towing. I am actually going 300 miles away to pick up the camper. I have experience (700+ mile trips) with towing the popup and boats, but the camper will be a little different.

Congrats on the new hybrid. You'll have lots of fun with it. We had a hybrid for a couple of years tha I towed with my Gen 1 Trac. The WD hitch makes all the difference in the world. We had a pop-up prior to the hybrid also, and I felt that the 5,000lb hybrid towed much better than the pop-up because of the WD hitch (didn't have it with the pop-up). I towed our hybrid from VA through mountains to IL when we moved in 2006, and it did just fine.