Bird Flu Entry through Port Of Miami..NOT GOOD!!!

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Funny...funny picture!!! However...the bird flu is not a funny thing! I am a Critical Care RRT and the US healthcare system...as of today...is EXTREMELY ill-equipped to handle a pandemic/epidemic. If the bird flu hits the US...with any severity...we're f#@%ed!!!

Dan

Dan : Don't worry....... our goverment is playing this up so they can have another way to control us & take away more of our freedoms. I for one will not fall for it...........

Martin,

Dan is correct. As a physician and pharmacist, I have a little knowledge in this area. Not just the USA but the whole world could be devastated by the bird flu. The current bird flu is of a subtype called H5N1. The H and N are designations for the main surface Glycoproteins hemagglutin and neuraminidase. The strains that humans have some resistance to are a combination of H1N1, H1N2, and H3N2. The H5N1 virus infects the airways of birds. For some reason it does not easily infect the airways of humans. The danger is that if someone does get infected with the H5N1 virus and also have one of the above mentioned viruses that are common to humans in their system also, THEN the two different viruses can exchange combinations of the hemagglutins and neuraminidases and VIOLA now we have a combination that could easily infect the airways of humans.