Better not leave it in the car

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Mark,

The have a little automated fire truck parked on a shelf in each section that will respond to the fire and put it out...:grin:

Seriously, I imagine they probably have some sort of fire monitor and halon type system, afterall, No humans go into where the cars are shelved so the system can be housed in a very low oxygen evnironment to reduce the risk of fire. Other than that, the risk is about the same as any other kind of parking garage. But it is a good point.

...Rich

cool idea. We could use that at the medical center downtown Houston. Their parking garages are a mad house.

as a firefighter myself, Mark you bring up a good point. If I were faced with a car fire in that structure I would be hesitant on entering. simply because of the stability of the structure. I am sure they have some sort of system in place as Rich L said. Possibly like something at a gas station. For a secondary means of attack I would have to imagine they have a sprinkler fed system along with pre connects at every floor/corner of the structure capable of accepting a high rise pack. Very good point though.

A sticking throttle or the age old "I thought I was pressing the brake but must have been pressing the accelerator" would cause more than a small amount of damage in that precision hi-tech garage ! :cry:

Bill

Halon is illegal in most cases. But, as this is a non-human area, I would think it would be fine to use and it is very effective and causes almost no damage to the vehicles that were not in the fire area...

Wow, I guess Hungary really is in Eastern Europe after all. These things aren't new. Japan has automated parking garages up the wazoo.