Why Things are Manufactured to Break

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nelson Atwell

Reaction score
If you build something that lasts forever, then you will go out of business. Just think if all the original Model Ts never broke, and never became obsolete.

You ever hear of Shelby Electric Company? Didn't think so. They built a lightbulb that is still burning after 107 years (see the story). You can't build something that costs a dollar and then never seel a second item to the same person. The guy that built that bulb has probably been dead for half a century, but his lightbulb still burns today.

I've been designing and building things for 23 years and I have NEVER designed anything to break.

What really happens is that you design something to last just long enough to be effective, both in customer preception and in your costs. Sure, we could design a machine that never broke, but at what cost? would you pay $1000 for a toaster oven that never wore out?

Like it or not, businesses only exist for one goal, and that goal is not customer satisfaction.

Had that same conversation with an older gentleman from our church.

We agreed that the issue isn't so much that things today break more than things of the past, actually we both determined that by and large things today tend to last longer and are of higher quality than the past.

We then came to one key conclusion, and that is that the big difference today is that things are made with less expensive components, typically are cheaper to build, and more and more are NOT engineered/designed to be maintained. In other words, they are built such that once they break, the only economical remedy is to replace the entire unit...repair, if possible at all, is simply too costly.