1. Welcome to the new home for MySportTrac.com!

    Please click here to find all the info about the move to the new site!

    To access your account you will need to reset your password here

Remote Start

Thread in 'Security Systems' started by LILFOOT, Nov 16, 2017.

  1. LILFOOT

    LILFOOT Previously Nicholas LaCommare 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    Has anyone had the Ford Gold Series Remote Start system installed after-the-fact?

    I am thinking of buying one. The only dealer that will install it, wants twice the normal rate, due to age of vehicle.



    My 09 STA has a non-working Autostart unit (Canadian mfr) and no support this side of the border.

    Most of the wires should swap right over, with a couple more for the Factory unit.

    Thinking of doing it myself, but wanted to gauge some others experiences, if any ?



    Part list:

    7L3Z-19G364-AA - Main unit

    2W7Z-19G365-AA - HoodSwitch

    8L3Z-19G365-BA - PATS module \ Old #(7L2Z-19G365-AA)



    --Nick
     
  2. Brad B

    Brad B Active Member 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    I have a unit on mine that starts with two presses of the factory fob lock button. Took 30 min to install, no splices. If you?re interested I?ll go look up the brand, etc. I should note that there is no alarm included.
     
  3. LILFOOT

    LILFOOT Previously Nicholas LaCommare 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Location:
    Macomb, MI
    I believe that is the Bronze.

    Appreciate the offer, but the functionality of the gold has me interested in using the 2 aux buttons for the seat heaters.
     
  4. Brad B

    Brad B Active Member 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    Sorry I wasn?t clear. Mine is aftermarket. I went that route rather than splicing 47 wires.
     
  5. Richard McAlister

    Richard McAlister Active Member 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    Collinsville, OK
    Brad -

    I'd be interested in the details of your autostart install.

    thx

    rich
     
  6. Brad B

    Brad B Active Member 2nd Gen Owner V8 Engine

    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    Mine is an Audiovox FLRSFO1. Flaslogic may be the parent company. It?s branded by many companies. I think the ignition T-harness is included. I think I had to hook up two wires to the obd port and one to the brake. The rest is plug-play. I don?t splice wires, just solder 1/2 inch of the ends and push them in the connections back side if possible. It does have to be programmed prior to installation. Special harness to connect to a computer. I just bought the harness then sold it on eBay when I was done. I watched eBay until someone listed the unit for a reasonable price. I do know I spent 30-45 minutes total on actual installation. Most of that involved the column trim to access the ignition. I didn?t install a hood open switch. No other modules were required. Press lock 3 times and it starts. You can add a cellular module to run it from a phone app. Range isn?t great, but that wasn't a concern for me. Or I?m sure a car alarm/start vendor can do it for a fee.
     

Share This Page