1. Welcome to the new home for MySportTrac.com!

    Please click here to find all the info about the move to the new site!

    To access your account you will need to reset your password here

Radio not bright enough

Thread in 'Audio, Electronics & Security' started by kaw900r, May 6, 2019.

  1. kaw900r

    kaw900r Member 2nd Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V8 Engine

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Location:
    On top of duh mountain
    Is there any fix for the radio or being bright? After I fixed truck you couldn't see anything almost then it was bright when night came. Now no matter day/night you can barely see what station you are on. I like the radio it does everything I need and sounds good.
     
  2. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    20,858
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Suffolk County (Long Island), NY
    Take your thumbs and push on both sides of the display cover.... if it gets bright, the LCD is loose inside or failing.... time for a new radio.... this is becoming another ST Common issue.....
     
  3. kaw900r

    kaw900r Member 2nd Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V8 Engine

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Location:
    On top of duh mountain
    Will try it tmrw. Everything works and sounds good. I called a shop here and they said it has to be sent out and would cost almost $400. If I get 1 that has factory navigation will it hook up or do I need to have software on car reprogrammed?
     
  4. kaw900r

    kaw900r Member 2nd Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V8 Engine

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Location:
    On top of duh mountain
    Went out this morning and it was working. Came out after work and couldn't see anything. Remembered what you said and pushed against both corners of display and it was visible again. Is this heat related like when it gets warm in car it separates and is this something that is fixable since that worked? t/u
     
  5. EddieS'04

    EddieS'04 Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner 2 Wheel Drive V6 Engine

    Messages:
    17,250
    Likes Received:
    101
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    Not by common person. Displays nowdays most driven by a carbon impregnated like sponge connector. With age some shrink. I have never had any luck getting them to reset. When I have taken a modern display off of anything. I was an instrument tech for 25yrs. You might find screws on the face plate to thighten. In the old days, they were connected by a ribbon cable.
    There are shops out there that repair or exchange factory units.
     
  6. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    20,858
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Suffolk County (Long Island), NY
    Factory units online are 90 bucks now a days.... Or just go aftermarket..... Fixing usually doesn't work as Eddie said.
     
  7. kaw900r

    kaw900r Member 2nd Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V8 Engine

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Location:
    On top of duh mountain
    So can I replace with a factory and upgrade to navigation?
     
  8. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    20,858
    Likes Received:
    148
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Suffolk County (Long Island), NY
    Not without a lot of work. The wiring and antennas and else takes a ton hours to install.
     
  9. kaw900r

    kaw900r Member 2nd Gen Owner 4 Wheel Drive V8 Engine

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Location:
    On top of duh mountain
    Was thinking/hoping it would use the xm connection for antenna. t/u
     

Share This Page