Question: What should I coat the inside of my exhaust with?

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big K

Reaction score
So, if everyone remembers I've got some duals put on along with a 50HD series Flowmaster muffler, and I was wondering what I should coat the inside of the pipes with to prevent rusting.. I'm in Colorado, and our weather likes to mess exhausts up, and I figured that I should coat it with something but I don't know what. I'm totally new to this, so any info, tips, how-to's, etc, would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

- Nick/BigK

Nothing to coat the inside of the pipes. If the muffler shop used a good qaulity aluminized pipe. You can spray andwipe the pipes down after the oil has burned off from heat.Go to a dollar store and buy some spray brake cleaner. Wash the pipes.

Duplicolor makes high heat exhaust paint with ceramic flakes. Stands up to 1200F. Sprayed my SS 'stang headers. The only place it flaked was at the bend next too the head. More than 1200F there.

Spray paint after the cleaner dries. No qauratee what you salted winter roads will do. though.

Why are you worrying about coating the inside of the pipes now, after the exhaust is intalled?? Are you going to take it all apart to coat the pipes? I don't think it is worth the time and expense now.

As previously stated, If you were concernted about the pipes rusting you should have had the shop install stainless steel, or aluminized steel pipes...which they may have done...Have you checked to see what kind of pipes they used?

There is a ceramic coating process used on headers because of the extreme heat, but I have never heard of anyone doing the whole exhaust that way?