Program Transponder key with remote start installed ...

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnnyB

Reaction score
I need to replace one of my transponder keys before it breaks even more. The loop on the top is cracked, I glued it on but I don't want to lose it. 2010 ST Limited, V-8. I have the remote start installed. Does that mean that I have a bypass module or a blank transponder key hidden under the dash? If I program the new key with the 2 old ones will the remote start still work?

I am afraid that if they did the old hide a blank transponder key under the dash so the remote start starts up without the key being in the car thing that and without programing the hidden key the remote start wont work anymore.

I'm not a professional installer but I've installed several so I'll take a stab at this. You're adding a key, not changing the ones that you have. I would think that the installer used a bypass module that reads a good key and stores that info in the module. I don't think adding a key will change what you already have. But of course I assume no liability. :argue:

FYI for anyone looking to install remote start, the system I installed on mine uses no transponder, basically plug/play. It uses the factory remote. Hit the lock button three times and it starts. The dedicated fobs have a better range though.

Last edited by a moderator:
I know that I need the 2 original keys to program the 3rd. I don't know if it just programs the new one with the same code as the originals or puts a "new" code on all 3 keys. Want to program them and find out the remote start doesn't work anymore.