I'm so stupid sometimes

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark K 2

Reaction score
In 2002, I accepted a job in England and was offered to bring my 2001 Job 2 Sport Trac 4x4 with me. In anticipation, and as an automotive electrician, I did a complete European lighting conversion on my truck so it would pass British Ministry of Transport inspection at the port. Among other things, I put amber bulbs in the back-up lights and rewired the sockets so they would be rear amber turn signals. The red rear lights became brake/tail only. I installed a Waag rear bumper guard and installed the required white halogen back-up light and a red rear fog light on it. I ended up turning down the English job, but never removed the European conversions. Now, my left rear amber turn signal stopped working and I found a wire dragging under the left rear fender... pulled loose by ice chunks. I reconnected it and nothing. It's 0° F. outside and there's ice compacted under the truck. It feels like I'm hauling around at least 500 pounds of extra weight that's all ice. I have to wait for a few days of melting to look at the mess closer. The bad thing is that I never drew a schematic or wiring diagram of my work back then, so I have no idea where to start looking to fix it. I think it's going to have to wait until spring. Drives me crazy thinking about it.

P9250021.JPG

I think I'm going to wait a few weeks for things to thaw, then rewire the whole mess. I removed the factory trailer lighting plug and installed one of those converter boxes that allows you to use four-wire trailer lights on vehicles with rear amber turn signals. That and all of the wiring is 18 years old and I can just imagine what it looks like after 18 Wisconsin Rust Belt winters.