• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to SportTrac Forum and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Gen1 v8 Swapped - White

Ford SportTrac Forum

Help Support Ford SportTrac Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Austin Sewell

Reaction score
Hey guys, as you may recall I consulted this forum and the ExplorerForum for info regarding the 302 swap in my 02 Gen1. Well the good news is I have a running v8 Gen1! The bad news being I'm a student in college and didn't realize that this was going to cost nearly as much as it did when it was all said and done.... I also moved back in with my mom and drive to school and work 25 miles one way, and the truck hasn't proven itself extremely reliable yet (still working out bugs from the swap). That being said, I'll list it here and see what kind of interest I get. I've got a google drive with pictures in it of my truck, not too many but I can take more. My number is 7708550282 if you want to text or call and leave a message about it. Here's some info I've got:

Gen1 2002 Oxford White 2WD Sport Trac, 302 swapped

Donor was a 99 Explorer with 223k on the motor, did some work before the install

Bored 30 over, new pistons/rings

New plugs, new seals on valve covers, intake upper and lower, thermostat, water pump

New water pump and thermostat

4r70w trans with new tail housing and extended driveshaft (still 2WD), no issues

2nd cats cut off, dual exhaust with DI/DO Flowmaster and no resonator

Front disc, back drum brakes with G-Force sensor for speedo operation

Explorer PCM, ABS module

AC works and held good vacuum when filled after swap

33" BFGs on Cragars

New sway bar links for lift

New shocks on all 4 corners

New fuel pump (Airtex) and filter

10000 pound Curt Hitch

3" PA body lift

Pioneer Radio

Sideview mirrors swapped with puddle lights

LED's all around