1. Welcome to the new home for MySportTrac.com!

    Please click here to find all the info about the move to the new site!

    To access your account you will need to reset your password here

Factory sub not working after stereo installed

Thread in 'Audio Systems' started by Richard D, Apr 29, 2020.

  1. Richard D

    Richard D Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Location:
    Evansville
    I own a 2001 Ford sport trac I recently replaced the aftermarket stereo that was in my truck with a newer one different brand. I know my truck has the factory sub and amp that is behind the driver rear seat I don’t think it worked when I bought the vehicle but plugged the audio jacks into the back but am not sure if I needed to get power to the amp and if so what color that wire would be. Any help or advice will help even if there would be a good affordable part for part swap
     
  2. EddieS'04

    EddieS'04 Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner 2 Wheel Drive V6 Engine

    Messages:
    17,402
    Likes Received:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    Welcome,
    The amp will have to be powered. Crutchfeild.com. Might be able to help with the proper cables, for the swap.
     
  3. Richard D

    Richard D Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Location:
    Evansville
    Thanks but I would like to figure out if the sub in there now is working or not prefer not to have to spend that much right now
     
  4. EddieS'04

    EddieS'04 Well-Known Member 1st Gen Owner 2 Wheel Drive V6 Engine

    Messages:
    17,402
    Likes Received:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    I scanned rear sub.jpg rear sub.jpg this is from my 2004 wiring manual. I hope it helps.
     
  5. Todd Z

    Todd Z Well-Known Member 2nd Gen Owner V6 Engine V8 Engine

    Messages:
    21,104
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Suffolk County (Long Island), NY
    it needs a 5V turn on, and low power signal for the speakers, you can jump the wiring to test but the radio install kit you bought should have had the right plug.... ALSO it will POP and damage the amp if you use the 12V turn on wire.
     

Share This Page